cricket club

​Malinda Pushpakumara’s five wicket haul helped Chilaw Marians seal a victory against Army by 15 runs. Army were given a target of 156 runs to get in their second innings. They were sitting comfortably at 140 for 7 but their last three wickets fell for no runs. Pushpakumara’s figures stood at 5 for 59. For Army, there were few cameos but it was Janith Silva showed the toughest resistance against Pushpakumara and the rest. 

Early on, Chilaw Marians posted 190 runs all out for their first innings. In reply the soldiers were cleaned up for just 183 runs. Army came back strongly with the ball in the second innings by restricting Chilaw cheaply for 148 runs.


Chilaw Marians crush CCC by 366 runs


February 8th, 2017

Chilaw Marians registered a mammoth 366 run victory against CCC at Panagoda grounds yesterday. Chilaw Marians cruised to a big lead after the overnight stand between Sachithra Serasinghe and Kasun Vidura Adikari continued to dominate the morning session. The pair added 227 runs for the 3rd wicket before Adikari was dismissed for 101 runs, but the stand out innings came from Serasinghe who carried on to make 207 runs which helped Chilaw Marians post 461 for 9 for their second innings. His knock came off 293 balls with 21 boundaries. 

CCC were given a massive target of 485 runs to get in their second innings but they fell way short thanks to a brilliant spell of bowling by Malinda Pushpakumara who bagged 7 wickets and cleaned up CCC for just 118 runs. Pushpakumara’s match figures stood at 10 for 109, a fantastic performance by the experienced left-arm spinner. 

Early on, Chilaw Marians made 213 for their first innings and in reply CCC was bowled out for just 190 runs. 


Chilaw Marians are SLC Premier League Runner-up 2016/17

February 22nd, 2017

The points table of the Super Eights is finally in. We are proud to announce that Chilaw Marians are RUNNER-UP of the SLC PREMIER LEAGUE TOURNAMENT 2016/17.

In the last game of the league, Chilaw Marians lost to Ragama CC by 7 wickets despite a strong comeback in the 2nd innings. Missing their star bowler, them team struggled to halt the Ragama batsman from reaching a target of 187. SSC benefitted from the Marians loss and became champions.

The team worked hard and played well throughout the tournament lasting 11 weeks. This is a great achievement for the club since the last time we were Runner-up was 5 years ago in 2011/12.

The management and the players are committed to build on this achievement and perform well in the upcoming SLC Major League Limited Overs Tournaments (50 overs and T20's).




Chilaw Marians ambush

SL Army

January 23rd, 2017


22nd Feb 2017

Points Table



Chilaw Marians demolish Colts

January 29th, 2017

Colts Cricket Club, considered a power house in the Sri Lanka domestic circuit, were dismantled for just 39 runs inside 14 overs as Chilaw Marians CC completed a comprehensive victory in their low-scoring Super Eight match at the CCC grounds.

After posting a below-par 196 in their first innings, Chilaw Marians managed to clinch a victory with two days to spare. The lads from Havelock Town captained by Dilruwan Perera had no answers to Isuru Udana, Maduka Liyanapathiranage and Malinda Pushpakumara as the title favourites - Chilaw Marians made short work of their opponents on a hot Sunday afternoon. Earlier Arosh Janoda bowled a brilliant spell with the new ball taking 7 for 38 in Colts 1st innings.


Chilaw Marians start season in style with win over NCC


December 9th, 2017

CMCC skipper Malinda Pushpakumara gave another wake up call to the selectors, as he picked up a match bag of 8/65 to destroy a strong NCC outfit at CMCC grounds, Katunayake today.

NCC who were set 211 for victory with 5 sessions of play remaining, struggled against spin on a tough wicket, as they were bowled out for just 116 runs to end the match inside two days and hand Chilaw Marians the first win of the tournament.


Chilaw Marians Cricket Club 206 (53) Kasun Vidura 50, Rukshan Fernanado 38, Sachithra Serasinghe 26, Lasith Embuldeniya 5/66, Angelo Perera 2/24 & 132 (20.2) Thikshila de Silva 37, Oshada Fernando 24, Shehan Jayasuriya 21, Lasith Embuldeniya 5/57, Lahiru Kumara 4/40  
Nondescripts Cricket Club 128 (39.5) Mahela Udawatta 46, Lahiru Kumara 24, Sachithra Serasinghe 3/21, Asitha Fernando 3/30, Malinda Pushpakumara 3/40  & 116 (28) Sandun Weerakkody 32, BHanuka Rajapaksha 19, Malinda Pushpakumara 5/25, Sachithra Serasinghe 4/48